Daughters of God

I’ve noticed a popular trend among progressing theologians.  The issue of women serving in the church has come to the forefront.  Many are pushing it to the forefront.  Most are rethinking the traditional view of how women can serve in the church.  Passages like I Timothy 2:11-15 are viewed as cultural and not applicable to our current situations in church.  I really don’t want to enter the fray here.  But instead I want to point out that the New Testament affirms that not just men, but women too, are children of God.

For some time, I’ve thought that God gave us two very different but appropriate illustrations of how we come into relationship with Him.  For the men, there is adoption.  The man is adopted as God’s own son to be an heir of the royal king.  For the women, there is marriage.  The LORD cleanses us as His bride and then marries us.  My thinking was that men can identify better with adoption, and women can identify better with marriage, or being the bride of Christ.

But in reading II Corinthians 6 yesterday, I believe it was God’s intent for women to identify with being called daughters of God just like men are called sons of God.  In II Corinthians 6, Paul is alluding to some OT references.  II Corinthians 6:16-18 may actually be an amalgamation of several different passages.  The point should not be missed though.  Verse 18 states, “and I will be a father to you, and you shall be sons and daughters to me, says the Lord Almighty.”

Since I love to study how the New Testament quotes the Old Testament, I tried to find corresponding verses.  I found Isaiah 43:6 which uses the same phrase of sons and daughters.  It is termed, “bring my sons from far, and my daughters from the ends of the earth;”.  Since the possessive pronoun “my” is used in reference to God, we have here a clear OT mention that God considers those females who belong to Him as “His daughters”.  Daughters of God.  It just rolls off the tongue.  A passage like Numbers 27:1-11 truly elevated women in that particular culture.  But Isaiah 43:6 elevates them higher than any other.  For what higher place can a woman rise to than being a daughter of God?  I guess the same could be said for men being called sons of God.

Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

The Orange Mailman

This entry was posted in Bible. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daughters of God

  1. Kathy Hall says:

    Your new blog, is very orange, Orange. But it wouldn’t be you if it weren’t. Please don’t delete your old blog. Definitely a reference source for me. Looking forward to what you will post here. A “daughter of God”, I really like that.

    • Kathy, I had a feeling you would be the first to leave a comment. Don’t worry. There’s too much over there at the other blog for me to delete. Remember, I lost all my files so some of that stuff is only available to me at that blog.

      Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

      -The Orange Mailman

  2. 1bellastager says:

    Yes, I’m so thankful that God loves His children…ALL of them:) sons & daughters.

Leave a Reply

